Becoming a Queen

Dan Clay

Hardcover

Regular price $19.99
Regular price Sale price $19.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Items available in store will have a number before "in stock"

Availability: In stock
SKU: 9781250843098
Becoming a Queen by Clay, Dan
Regular price $19.99
Regular price Sale price $19.99

A vibrant and emotional novel from debut author Dan Clay about a boy who turns toward love, self-expression, and drag when the unthinkable happens, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Julie Murphy.

If only Mark Davis hadn't put on a dress for the talent show. It was a joke--other guys did it too--but when his boyfriend saw Mark in that dress, everything changed.

And now, fresh on the heels of high school heartbreak, Mark has given up on love. Maybe some people are just too much for this world--too weird, too wild, too feminine, too everything. Thankfully, his older brother Eric always knows what to say to keep Mark from spinning into self-loathing. "Be yourself! Your full sequin-y self."

But Mark starts to notice signs that his perfect older brother has problems of his own.

When the source of Mark's strength suddenly becomes the source of his greatest pain, the path back to happiness seems impossible. Searching for a way out, Mark slips into a dress to just, briefly, become someone else, live a different life. His escape, however, becomes an unexpected outlet for his pain--a path to authentic connection, and a provocation to finally see other people as fully as he wants to be seen.

Beautifully written, heart-wrenching, and ultimately uplifting, Dan Clay's Becoming a Queen is a stunning story about love, loss, and the ineffable power of a purple princess dress.

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Published: 04/25/2023
Pages: 416
Weight: 1.03lbs
Size: 8.53h x 5.67w x 1.34d
ISBN: 9781250843098
Age: Young Adult


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 02/06/2023
Kirkus Reviews 02/15/2023
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2023

About the Author

Dan Clay is a writer and drag queen thrilled to be making his debut as a novelist with Becoming a Queen. Until now, he focused on spreading love and positivity online through his drag persona, "Carrie Dragshaw." His writing as Carrie has been featured in hundreds of magazines, newspapers, and television shows-from Cosmo to People to Watch What Happens Live-and his TED Talk on being your "whole self" details his first-hand experience with the healing power of drag.

Dan graduated from Northwestern University with a degree in philosophy and went on to get an MBA from Wharton at the University of Pennsylvania. When he's not writing, he works for a climate change nonprofit and a New York-based branding agency. He lives in New York.