Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea

Rita Chang-Eppig

Hardcover

Regular price $28.99
Regular price Sale price $28.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Availability: In stock
SKU: 9781639730377
Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea by Chang-Eppig, Rita
Regular price $28.99
Regular price Sale price $28.99

A Good Morning America Buzz Pick

For readers of Outlawed, Piranesi, and The Night Tiger, a dazzling historical novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet from the forces allied against them, and the dangerous price of power.

As Recommended By
The TODAY Show * Washington Post * Goodreads * LitHub * Real Simple * Time * Popsugar * HuffPost * Los Angeles Times * Ms. Magazine * Book Riot * Elle.com * The Rumpus * Tor.com * Polygon * Debutiful * Electric Lit * Shondaland *

When Shek Yeung sees a Portuguese sailor slay her husband, a feared pirate, she knows she must act swiftly or die. Instead of mourning, Shek Yeung launches a new plan: immediately marrying her husband's second-in-command, and agreeing to bear him a son and heir, in order to retain power over her half of the fleet.

But as Shek Yeung vies for control over the army she knows she was born to lead, larger threats loom. The Chinese Emperor has charged a brutal, crafty nobleman with ridding the South China Seas of pirates, and the Europeans--tired of losing ships, men, and money to Shek Yeung's alliance--have new plans for the area. Even worse, Shek Yeung's cutthroat retributions create problems all their own. As Shek Yeung navigates new motherhood and the crises of leadership, she must decide how long she is willing to fight, and at what price, or risk losing her fleet, her new family, and even her life.

A book of salt and grit, blood and sweat, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea is an unmissable portrait of a woman who leads with the courage and ruthlessness of our darkest and most beloved heroes.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Published: 05/30/2023
Pages: 304
Weight: 1.25lbs
Size: 9.54h x 6.39w x 1.14d
ISBN: 9781639730377


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 04/15/2023
Publishers Weekly 04/24/2023
Booklist 05/15/2023 pg. 28
Shelf Awareness 06/02/2023

About the Author
Rita Chang-Eppig received her MFA from NYU. Her stories have appeared in McSweeney's Quarterly Concern, Conjunctions, Clarkesworld, The Santa Monica Review, The Rumpus, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Best American Short Stories 2021 (selected by Jesmyn Ward), and elsewhere. She has received fellowships from the Rona Jaffe Foundation/Vermont Studio Center, the Writers Grotto, the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, and the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies at San Jose State University. She lives in California.