Hello, Mister Blue

Daria Peoples

Hardcover

Regular price $19.99
Regular price Sale price $19.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Availability: In stock
SKU: 9780063206755
Hello, Mister Blue by Peoples, Daria
Regular price $19.99
Regular price Sale price $19.99

A day in the park sparks an unlikely connection between a young girl and a street musician without a home. From acclaimed author-illustrator Daria Peoples, Hello, Mister Blue is a powerful picture book that emphasizes the importance of history, bravery, and community. Hello, Mister Blue is for readers who love Yuyi Morales's Dreamers and Matt de la Peña's and Christian Robinson's Last Stop on Market Street.

A young girl always creates special memories when she visits her grandfather. He lets her sip his creamy coffee, they take a stroll through the park, and they play music together. But this time, something unexpected happens: she meets Papa's longtime friend, Mister Blue.

Mister Blue lives outside, and he and his music have always brought Papa's community together. At the end of the day, the young girl has many questions for Papa. Is Mister Blue safe? Scared? Lonely, hungry? With her curiosity and kindness, she can change things for the better, for at least one person and one night.

Featuring a lyrical text, stunning illustrations, and a resonant message, Hello, Mister Blue presents a difficult, universal topic with sensitivity and warmth for the youngest of readers. Every person belongs to a community, and generosity can make a difference for everyone.

Hello, Mister Blue is a terrific pick for readers of Oge Mora's Saturday and Vera B. Williams's A Chair for My Mother.



Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published: 05/30/2023
Pages: 32
Weight: 0.92lbs
Size: 9.32h x 11.30w x 0.36d
ISBN: 9780063206755
Age: Ages 4-8


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2023
Publishers Weekly 04/03/2023
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2023 - Book Of Special Distinction
Booklist 05/15/2023 pg. 52
Horn Book Magazine 07/01/2023 pg. 97