Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance

Alison Espach

Paperback

Regular price $17.99
Regular price Sale price $17.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Availability: In stock
SKU: 9781250871442
Collections:
Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance by Espach, Alison
Regular price $17.99
Regular price Sale price $17.99

Named a Best Book of 2022 by NPR and The Chicago Tribune

From Alison Espach, author of the New York Times Editors' Choice novel The Adults, comes a dazzlingly unconventional love story for readers of Ask Again, Yes and Tell the Wolves I'm Home.

For much of her life, Sally Holt has been mystified by the things her older sister, Kathy, seems to have been born knowing. Kathy has answers for all of Sally's questions about life, about love, and about Billy Barnes, a rising senior and local basketball star who mans the concession stand at the town pool. The girls have been fascinated by Billy ever since he jumped off the roof in elementary school, but Billy has never shown much interest in them until the summer before Sally begins eighth grade. By then, their mutual infatuation with Billy is one of the few things the increasingly different sisters have in common. Sally spends much of that summer at the pool, watching in confusion and excitement as her sister falls deeper in love with Billy--until a tragedy leaves Sally's life forever intertwined with his.

Opening in the early nineties and charting almost two decades of shared history and missed connections, Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance is both a breathtaking love story about two broken people who are unexplainably, inconveniently drawn to each other and a wryly astute coming-of-age tale brimming with unexpected moments of joy.

"Heartbreaking and funny, often in the same sentence--a deeply felt, finely wrought, and highly satisfying novel. Alison Espach has created a family whose every sorrow, joy, and idiosyncrasy is utterly, vibrantly real."--New York Times bestselling author Claire Lombardo

Publisher: Holt McDougal
Published: 04/25/2023
Pages: 352
Weight: 0.67lbs
Size: 8.27h x 5.46w x 0.93d
ISBN: 9781250871442

About the Author

Alison Espach is the author of the novel The Adults, a New York Times Editors' Choice and a Barnes & Noble Discover pick. Her short stories and essays have appeared in Vogue, Joyland, Glamour, Salon, and McSweeney's, among other places. She is currently a professor of creative writing at Providence College in Rhode Island.