That Self-Same Metal (the Forge & Fracture Saga, Book 1)

Brittany N. Williams

Hardcover

Regular price $19.99
Regular price Sale price $19.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Availability: In stock
SKU: 9781419758645
That Self-Same Metal (the Forge & Fracture Saga, Book 1) by Williams, Brittany N.
Regular price $19.99
Regular price Sale price $19.99
A stunning YA fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Holly Black and Justina Ireland, about a Black girl (and sword expert) fighting a Fae uprising in Shakespearean London

Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman who creates and upkeeps the stage blades for William Shakespeare's acting company, The King's Men. Joan's skill with her blades comes from a magical ability to control metal--an ability gifted by her Head Orisha, Ogun. Because her whole family is Orisha-blessed, the Sands family have always kept tabs on the Fae presence in London. Usually that doesn't involve much except noting the faint glow around a Fae's body as they try to blend in with London society, but lately, there has been an uptick in brutal Fae attacks. After Joan wounds a powerful Fae and saves the son of a cruel Lord, she is drawn into political intrigue in the human and Fae worlds.

Swashbuckling, romantic, and full of the sights and sounds of Shakespeare's London, this series starter delivers an unforgettable story--and a heroine unlike any other.

Publisher: Amulet Books
Published: 04/25/2023
Pages: 352
Weight: 0.9lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.90w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9781419758645
Age: Young Adult


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 02/15/2023
Booklist 03/01/2023 pg. 54
School Library Journal 04/01/2023 pg. 143
Shelf Awareness 05/12/2023

About the Author
Brittany N. Williams is a classically-trained actress who studied Musical Theatre at Howard University and Shakespearean performance at the Royal Central School of Speech & Drama in London. Previously she's been a principal vocalist at Hong Kong Disneyland, a theatre professor at Coppin State University, and made appearances in Queen Sugar and Leverage: Redemption. Her short stories have been published in The Gambit Weekly, Fireside Magazine, and the Star Wars anthology From a Certain Point of View: The Empire Strikes Back.