The Year of Second Chances

Lara Avery

Hardcover

Regular price $30.00
Regular price Sale price $30.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Availability: In stock
SKU: 9780063273757
Collections:
The Year of Second Chances by Avery, Lara
Regular price $30.00
Regular price Sale price $30.00

In this dazzling debut, Lara Avery crafts a story about one woman's uplifting journey of possibility, second chances, and falling in love again...with life--perfect for fans of P.S. I Love You.

"A lively, witty ride with a strong cast of supporting characters. Avery tackles the topic of grief in a way that manages to feel lighthearted and profound at the same time. I flew through this book and loved every page." --Meg Mitchell Moore, bestselling author of Summer Stage

Robin Lindstrom spent her first year as a young widow cocooned in the safe haven of the Minnesota farmhouse she'd once shared with Gabe, the love of her life--the man she thought she'd be with 'til the end. But her world is turned upside down when she receives an email informing her that her late husband has enrolled in something called "Bubbl"--a dating service. The app subscription lasts 12 months; use it!, Gabe's message-from-the-grave reads. I don't like the thought of you being alone. If you won't do it for yourself, do it as a favor to me. Please.

After twelve months of pulling herself together, Robin's fragile equilibrium is knocked sideways. How could Gabe, of all people, be asking her to venture out into the murky waters of 21st century online dating? As her underemployed brother, Theo, points out, it's "only" for a year, and it's basically Gabe's last request.

And so Robin tentatively takes steps to put herself out into the world once more, even if it means awkward outings at bowling alleys, club-hopping with DJs she meets online, and stammering conversations at dinner. Along the way, she's surprised to find herself meeting new people, trying new things...and even getting to know a new version of herself. Because everyone deserves a second chance at love--and loving life.



Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 08/22/2023
Pages: 288
Weight: 0.9lbs
Size: 9.10h x 6.10w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9780063273757


Review Citation(s):
Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2023 pg. 14
Library Journal 06/01/2023 pg. 107
Publishers Weekly 07/31/2023
Booklist 08/01/2023 pg. 29